Our Governors

The Governors at Wolverley CE Secondary School are a committed group of people from the community, who play a vital role in ensuring that every child receives the best possible education, are happy, feel safe and secure.

Our governors set the school’s vision, ethos and strategic direction. They also hold the headteacher to account for the performance of teachers and pupils, and to ensure that Wolverley offers the best possible value for money.

Our governors are perceptive people who challenge and support the headteacher in equal measure and know when and how to do this. They understand the complexities of school organisation and can analyse the wealth of data, using it to influence performance and raise standards.  Our governors come from a wide range of professional backgrounds. Their breadth of knowledge and skills are applied very effectively to an educational situation.

The role is so important that we invest a great deal of time on training for our governors so that they are empowered to challenge leaders effectively.  Much of this training is ‘in house’ and bespoke to the needs of the governor so that they become experts in their specialist area of school improvement.

We hope you find the governors area of the website useful and informative.  

Bryn Thomas, Headteacher  

Karen McGrath, Chair of Governors

If you would like to contact the Governors you can do this by emailing the school office at office@wolverley.worcs.sch.uk for the attention of Karen McGrath or sending a letter to the following address:

F.O.A. Karen McGrath, Wolverley CE Secondary School, Blakeshall Lane, Wolverley  Kidderminster, Worcestershire, DY11 5XQ

Who's on the Governing Body

Bryn Thomas Headteacher
Karen McGrath Chair of Governors
Stephen Pugh Vice Chair of Governors
Adrian Hobday Co-opted Governor
Diane Mottershead Co-opted Governor
Matthew Carver Foundation Governor
Amanda Cope Local Authority Governor
Amy Price Staff Governor
Phil Rose Parent Governor
Ian Pye Parent Governor
Graeme Brown Parent Governor
Vacancy Parent Governor
Laura Oldnall Clerk to Governing Body


Governor Committees, Committee Remits and Members